Past Leaders Recall Evolution of UTC at 35th Anniversary Celebration Gala

Support of the modern transportation industry, the use of microcomputers in transportation research, growth in the number of student research associates, establishment of regular funding sources and continued efforts to maintain excellence summarized comments from past and current leaders of the Urban Transportation Center during its 35th Anniversary Celebration October 20.

More than 100 guests gathered at the Metropolitan Club in Willis Tower for a gala evening of dinner, networking and learning from four past directors and current Executive Director Steve Schlickman during a panel discussion.  Guests also were updated on the Joseph DiJohn Memorial Scholarship Fund, initiated in honor of the former long-time UTC lecturer who passed away in 2011.


A highlight of the evening was a panel discussion that featured commentary on pivotal events and industry developments that took places since the UTC was launched at UIC in 1979. During the discussion, led by CUPPA Dean Michael Pagano, here were some highlights:

Speakers also recognized these former directors: The last Dr. Richard Michaels, the first UTC director; Dr. Sue McNeil, currently professor of Civil and Environmental Engineering and Urban Planning and Public Affairs at the University of Delaware; and, Dr. Piyushimita (Vonu) Thakuriah, now professor of Urban Studies and affiliated professor of the School of Engineering at the University of Glasgow.